top of page
Image by Zdeněk Macháček

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum


Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up. 2.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


The four overarching guiding principles


There are four guiding principles in the EYFS that shape our practice. These area:


  1. That every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

  2. That every child can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

  3. That children learn and develop best in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults

  4. The importance of learning and development. Children develop and learn in different ways


Areas of learning and development


There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape our educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.  


These are the prime areas: -


  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


These are the specific areas:-


  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts & Design




The main aspects of each of the seven areas are: -


Communication and Language:

  • Listening, Attention and Understanding

  • Speaking

Personal, Social and Emotional:

  • Self-Regulation

  • Managing Self

  • Building Relationships


Physical Development:

  • Gross Motor Skills

  • Fine Motor Skills



  • Comprehension

  • Word Reading

  • Writing



  • Number

  • Numerical Patterns


Understanding the World:

  • Past and Present

  • People, Culture and Communities

  • The Natural World


Expressive Arts & Design:

  • Creating with Materials

  • Being Imaginative and Expressive


For more information about the EYFS curriculum, please see the documents below:


Parents’ Guide to EYFS – See documents below

bottom of page